2015 Roundup

2014 was the year I started writing and submitting. I like to think that 2015 was where I really made things happen, though.

My goal was 30 submissions, and while I didn’t reach that, I did submit 22 times over the year, which isn’t bad, considering I’m doing this with a full-time job (not to mention a shiny new relationship since April). Out of those 22 submissions, one was accepted: “Of Peach Trees and Coral-Red Roses” will be in Kaleidotrope‘s summer issue this year. Also of note: “Dreaming Keys” is in the anthology An Alphabet of Embers, due to be released in February. It’s my first published piece, so I’m quite proud of it.

Also, I submitted twice to the Writers of the Future Contest, and got two Honorable Mentions for the third and fourth quarters. Here’s a nice badge they gave me for the fourth quarter:

HONORABLE MENTION

While I did write new stories in 2015, a lot of them are unfinished, either because I would go, “oh, shit, that word count is way too high” or “oh, shit, I don’t know how to finish this thing.” I’m hoping that won’t happen as much this year. Currently I’m working on something for PoC Destroy SF, and the issues behind those are: too many ideas, not enough time and energy, and a perfectionist habit that I’m desperately trying to break. I really don’t think writers can be told “the only perfect first draft is a finished one” too many times.

I also did a lot of reading! A lot of great books came out this year, including Ken Liu’s The Grace of Kings, Aliette de Bodard’s The House of Shattered Wings, Mira Grant’s Rolling in the Deep, Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown, and Catherynne Valente’s Radiance. I was also introduced to The Dragon King Chronicles by Ellen Oh, and Shira Glassman’s Mangoverse, which are both utterly delightful series (Mangoverse is ongoing; the next book, The Olive Conspiracy, is coming out in July.)

Because I am superstitious about certain things, such as this upcoming Mercury retrograde, I’m considering rereading some of last year’s books and posting reviews. I need to be more present here, anyway, so I may as well ask you, the readers: along with book reviews, is there anything else you would like to see? Posts about cooking, perhaps? Or beauty products?

To close, I have some goals for this year:

  • get up to 30 submissions;
  • lose the perfectionist streak and finish more stories; trust betas to help me fix them later;
  • get more exercise, due to high triglycerides running in one side of the family;
  • learn to weave.

Best wishes for a smooth, productive 2016!

About codenameminali

I feel like I don't fit into this world, so I'm trying to create my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

