Story Sale to Kaleidotrope

I had a bit of a harrowing weekend, what with attending a family event, which included being on the road for at least six hours on Saturday and Monday. The family event itself was fine! But there was a lot of hectic rushing about, and I can only take so much of that.

And it’s been a bit of a stressful week, but one very, very bright spot was that when I came home on Monday, I discovered that I’d sold my short story, “Of Peach Trees and Coral-Red Roses,” to Kaleidotrope. It’ll be out in the Summer 2016 issue!

This story is a retelling of Tam Lin, and has a touch of inspiration from wuxia stories and Chinese mythology. It’s near and dear to my heart for several reasons, but the main two are that 1) I’ve been drawn to Tam Lin in a way that I keep coming back to it, like a favorite vacation spot, and 2) this is an attempt to try and put East Asian heroines in a world that I’d always found closed off to me since childhood, because as a kid, I would read all this great fantasy, but subconsciously there would always be that notion that these were worlds that I could never, ever enter.

If you’re looking for a great story like this with East Asian heroines, I highly, highly recommend SL Huang’s Hunting Monsters. Seriously, go read it if you haven’t already!

About codenameminali

I feel like I don't fit into this world, so I'm trying to create my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Story Sale to Kaleidotrope

  1. Merc_Rustad says:

    That’s so awesome! Congrats on the sale! 😀

Leave a Reply

